The Thanks To Scandinavia Sperling Fellowships In Memory Of Frances And Benjamin Sperling At The Hebrew University Of Jerusalem 

The Thanks To Scandinavia Fund from the Benjamin Sperling Bequest to the Hebrew University has endowed scholarships of US $12,500 each in memory of Frances and Benjamin Sperling, for students from Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden, who wish to pursue graduate studies at the Hebrew University.

Candidates for the Fellowship should have a B.A. degree or equivalent and wish to spend a year of study within the framework Division of Graduate Studies of the Hebrew University’s of the Rothberg International School (RIS).

The RIS Division of Graduate Studies, established in 1993, functions under the auspices of the Faculty of Humanities, the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Paul Baerwald School of Social Work and Social Welfare, and the Rothberg International School. The Division offers degree and non-degree options, with seminars and tutorials in Jewish Studies, Jewish Education, Politics and Society of Israel, Islam and the Middle East, Biblical Studies, Comparative Religion, and Community Leadership and Philanthropy Studies. Modern Hebrew language instruction is available at all levels, as are language courses in Biblical Hebrew, Arabic, Yiddish, Greek, Akkadian, and German. Courses and tutorials in the Division are taught in English by members of the Hebrew University faculty and distinguished visitors. These courses are recognized by the Hebrew University as equivalent to courses offered in its departmental degree programs. In addition, students with a sufficient command of Hebrew are encouraged to take graduate courses taught in Hebrew in all the faculties and schools of the Hebrew University, including Science, Medicine and Pharmacy.

The Graduate Year Program is designed to meet the special needs of qualified graduate students from abroad who wish to spend a year at the Hebrew University, whether they are M.A. or Ph.D. candidates or recent college graduates who have not yet commenced a program of graduate study. While this is not a degree program, a full transcript is provided in order to facilitate the transfer of credit.

Admission and Application Information

The application deadline is April 1. More information and the application can be found here.

Admission to the Division of Graduate Studies is based on transcripts, letters of recommendation and a statement of purpose. Applicants must have the equivalent of a “B” (3.2) grade average. 

The Thanks To Scandinavia Fellowships in Memory of Frances and Benjamin Sperlingare awarded on an equal-opportunity basis. Academic excellence and the relevance of the candidate’s studies to the needs of Scandinavia are the main criteria for selection. The opportunities offered by the Hebrew University in the candidate’s field of interest are also considered. Recipients are not eligible for any additional Israel-based financial aid.

Candidates must provide proof of citizenship in one of the Scandinavian countries. Students from Scandinavia who have been living in Israel for no more than one calendar year at the time of application may also submit their applications to the Rothberg International School and to the appropriate Scandinavian organization for screening.

The scholarship is for a single year and is not renewable. A non-refundable application fee of US $80 must be paid to the Rothberg International School by the candidate upon submission of the application form.

For further information contact the appropriate person listed below. These people will also make the initial screening. Their recommendations will be forwarded to the RIS Division of Graduate Studies. The final decision will be made in Jerusalem, by the Selection Committee, chaired by the Provost of the RIS.  Copies of the recommendations for the Scandinavian applicants and all relevant correspondence, as well as the protocol of the Committee’s decision on the awards, will be sent to the Executive Director of the Thanks To Scandinavia Fund in New York.


Mr. Otto Rühl, Lecturer, MA Mr. Daniel Robert Krygier 
Sprydet 81Dk 30-70 Snekkersten
Tel: +45 49 25 3900
Fax: +45 49 22 4204
E-mail: otto.ruehl@webspeed.dk
Cultural Officer
Embassy of Israel
Lundevangsvej 4
DK-2900 Hellerup
Tel: +45 88 18 55 24
Fax: +45 88 18 55 55

Hugo Lagercrantz MD PhD Drhc Ms. Evelyn Gottlieb
Senior Professor of Pediatrics
Acta Paediatrica
Karolinska University Hospital  X5:01
17176 Stockholm, Sweden
Phone: +46 8 5177/4700  or/2487
E-mail: Hugo.Lagercrantz@ki.se
Public Relations
Embassy of Israel
Box 14006
104 40 Stockholm
Tel: +46-8-528 06 524
Fax: +46-8-662 53 01
E-mail: info@stockholm.mfa.gov.il

Mr. Aviad Ivri Karin H. Mandeville
Embassy of Israel
POB 534 Skøyen
0214 Oslo
Tel: + 47 21 01 9254
Fax: + 47 21 01 9530
E-mail: isrpolitic@oslo.mfa.gov.il
Cultural Officer
Embassy of Israel
P.O. Box 534 Skøyen
N-0214 Oslo
Tel.:  +47 21 01 95 00
Fax:  +47 21 01 95 30
Mob.: +47 93 20 73 99
E-mail: isrinfo@oslo.mfa.gov.il
Web: www.oslo.mfa.gov.il

Finland Israel
Ms. Elina Mielityinen
Information Officer
Embassy of Israel
Yrjonkatu 36 A
00100 Helsinki
Tel: +358-9-68120225
Email: info@helsinki.mfa.gov.il
Division of Graduate Studies
Rothberg International School
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Boyar Building, Mount Scopus Jerusalem 91905
Tel: 972 25 88 3184
Fax: 972 25 82 2363
E-mail: irisa@savion.huji.ac.il




TTS Scholars Begin Music Therapy Fellowship

For the  10th consecutive year, The Louis Armstrong Center for Music & Medicine at Mount Sinai Beth Israel will host two Thanks To Scandinavia Scholars: Kjersti Johansson from Norway and Taru Koivisto from Finland. The fellowship program will run from July 12 to July 25th, 2015. At a culminating event both fellows will be presenting Music […]


Follow Us:
Facebook Facebook